2013 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships

Every year there is a not an Olympic Games, there is a World Championships where the top gymnasts compete to be the best in the world. The World Championships is an individual championship, which means each gymnast will be coached individually and there is no team competition. The 2013 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships are set to begin on Sept. 30 in Antwerp, Belgium.

The U.S. women’s gymnastics team will consist of 2012 Olympic champions, McKayla Maroney and Kyla Ross, and U.S. all-around champion, Simone Biles. The fourth and final team member is Brenna Dowell, who placed third in the all-around at the U.S.Championships in August.


The 2013 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships team from left to right: Kyla Ross, McKayla Maroney, Brenna Dowell, and Simone Biles.

Biles, Maroney and Ross are all set to compete in the all-around, meaning Dowell will attend as an alternate. Only three gymnasts per event per country can compete. It will be interesting to see who medals because all three team members are top competitors and good friends. Maroney is the only gymnast out of the group of four who has competed at a World Championship before. She competed in the 2011 World’s in Tokyo and placed first on vault.

The women’s team was selected on the following criteria: results from the P&G Championships; hit consistency and results from past international and national competitions; scores based on difficulty and execution; consistency; medal potential; composition of individual strengths among team members; and readiness to compete.

Maroney, a 2012 Olympic gold medalist, placed first on vault and floor at the 2013 P&G Championships held in August. Ross, also a 2012 Olympic gold medalist, placed first on the uneven bars and balance beam, second in all-around, and seventh on floor. Biles showed out at the P&G Championships, placing first in all-around and second in all four individual events. Dowell, the alternate, placed third in the all-around and uneven bars, and fifth on floor.


The qualification rounds determine which gymnasts will move on to the finals. The top 24 gymnasts will qualify for the all-around finals, and the top eight for each event will advance to the event finals.

Fans can follow the 2013 World Artistic Gymnastics Championships via the Internet, cable TV and network television, as well as social media. There will be photos, updates, and web cast available at usagymworlds.com. Universal Sports will carry a live web cast and telecast of the finals on its website and cable network. NBC will also be broadcasting the coverage on Oct. 12-13.













Tags: , ,

Hi, Stranger! Leave Your Comment...

Name (required)
Email (required)